top of page

Spring '16 Community Engagement: Reflection

This blog post is going to be filled out in the “What? So what? Now what?” reflection technique. This technique can be useful for self-reflection. Base is first touched by recalling what was actually done for community service. Then hopefully deeper reflection is reached as the “So What?” portion of the reflection is analyze. What did the service done actually personally mean? The last step in the reflection is looking into the future. What actions will be taken and how has this community engagement changed you as an individual.

What?

For my 2016 Spring semester here at Virginia Tech, I choose to volunteer at the local Blacksburg Farmer’s Market. As a volunteer I was stationed at the information table. Here I helped those shoppers that did not carry cash on them that day; I was able to transfer their credit to wooden coins that were of value at the market. I also assisted those persons that had EBT cards and were members of the SNAP program, by also granting them the allotted number of coins they wished to collect that day.

So What?

I felt fulfillment from serving those persons I helped at the market and also felt proud to be engaging in my community and people witnessing my service gave me satisfaction. This was one of the first times I went kind of blindly into a service project all on my own. I was certainly glad that I took this chance and really pursued the market. I felt that the market was something I wanted to be a part of, and then I went out and did it! The Blacksburg Farmer’s Market is an amazing event held on Wednesday’s from 2pm - 7 pm and on Saturday’s from 8am - 2pm right off of South Main. I even further learned about its importance when I investigated the SNAP program and the pros that come with buying locally.

Now What?

I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent volunteering at the Blacksburg Farmer’s Market and intend to continue volunteering throughout my time here at Tech. I was also told by Alveena, my mentor at the market, that there is a club here at Tech that reaches out to students to get them engaged in the market. I plan to seek out this club and hope to help out next fall semester as a club member. I also now have a better understanding of the importance of buying local and the SNAP program.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page